SPEAKING TO THE MASSES: PREPARING MYSELF FOR PODCASTING

Image result for podcast

“Training yourself to speak to the masses.”


This year after I am finished making my second short film Freedomless Speech, I am going  to be building my podcast show. And the show will be a scripted podcast show that aims at trying to motivate and inspire people to work hard, go for their dreams, and live the best them in society. I have been thinking about this for quite some time, and now is the time to put it all together. But, I have two dilemmas: building the podcast and making myself come across clear in the podcast. Which are two of my most important issues that I will have to work on. So, you probably asking, why this and now?

Well, I wanted to do something like this for quite some time now. I am currently working on my indie films, so I need something else to keep myself in that mode. And the podcast came to mind also because I am a fan of the Brilliant Idiots podcast. For those unfamiliar with the Brilliant Idiots, it is a show hosted by radio personality and New York Times Best Selling Author Charlamagne tha God and comedian Andrew Shultz. They cover all types of topics that deal with with pop culture. I had something similar in mind, but I decided to go in a different direction. And my direction was concerning how to motivate and inspire. And the reason I chose this type of podcast choice has to do with the climate in society.

And when I say climate, let me be clear, I’m not referring to the temperature climate. I am referring to the social climate in America and worldwide. I wanted at first to cover current events, but the current event coverage was depressing. I knew I could perform on the show, but shifting through all the negative information to talk about current events I just couldn’t do. Having to spend my days going over bad news after bad news just to talk about something. And on top of all that social, people having to deal with their own personal lives. So I decided that a motivational show would work best. And the great thing about the show, is that it will be free on Soundcloud and iTunes. I even might host a few on Facebook Live and Instagram Live.

So, remember what I said earlier about building the platform. These platforms take not days and weeks, but years of building. I am already in the third year of my WordPress blog posts and it’s going good. Now, I verbally want to talk to the world. I feel I have so much to say, so much to give to people, why not share it with the world. Why not share my outlook with the rest of the world. And if the masses gain something from it, it will mean that much more to me and to them. Problem is, so many people don’t want to build, they want it overnight and that’s just not reality. I would love to be one of those people that speak to 1 million people each week.

That type of audience takes years and a lot of work. You have to be willing to put in those hours consistently. And you have to learn to come across clear and concise. Make yourself knowledgeable about the topic at hand. But the biggest aspect of making your podcast stick is to actually tough it out. A lot of people like I said before want that overnight success. And those type of people are the quick gratification individuals who won’t make it through. But in the end, hopefully this podcast gets up and running. Monetizing eventually is important, but for now, I just want to build my audience. And spread my knowledge of topics at hand that I feel people need to hear.


https://www.facebook.com/groups/1777548702458281/

https://faheemjackson.squarespace.com/

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_n_0?fst=as%3Aoff&rh=n%3A283155%2Ck%3Afaheem+jackson&keywords=faheem+jackson&ie=UTF8&qid=1492966094&rnid=2941120011 

@fjackson12345 Instagram

@2320howe Twitter

Leave a Reply

