EXTERNALLY STRONG, INTERNALLY WEAK: THE EMOTIONAL UPS AND DOWNS OF BLACK WOMEN

Image result for hurt BLACK WOMEN

“Where does it all come from?”

America’s most educated demographic of people: Black women. That’s right, highly educated, very successful; but. And there is a but; what about the romance? Not romance as it pertains to are they affectionate, but what about their love life? In today’s society, Black women are in more professional positions than anytime prior. All the bells and whistles, yet when it comes to their love lives, this is the area that takes a back seat. What is about Black women that there love lives tend to lose out to their professional lives. Better yet, is it just the career alone?

You see, growing up, being raised in a household by Black women, I didn’t notice anything wrong. Me personally, I grew up not aware of any stereotype either of any kind. The women that raised me, were a pretty chilled group of women. It wasn’t until I became an adult, that I started to hear the feelings of what Black women felt. My mother and sisters were almost careful not to put too much out there for me to see, but coming into society I experienced something new. Well, not me personally, but experience in hearing and seeing how many Black women felt hurt and shut out. Where does it come from? Is it real, or is it just in their (black women) heads?

For starters, there are a lot of stereotypes that are in society describing Black women. So there is no wonder, the frustration and anger comes from a group of women. But is that all there is? So many Black women as I said earlier are very successful. But is success always the replacement for happiness? From the outside things look perfectly fine, but what about internally? How do Black women really feel internally?  To me, when I walk up the street, life seems fine from my point of view. But is there really a problem. Now, I don’t want to make Black women appear to be victims, but there is a problem at times.

Then, what is the solution? Black women hold hurt, but don’t want to be seen as victims. They are successful, but don’t feel success should get in the way of relationships. They feel angry sometimes, yet, don’t want to be looked at as mean or angry. And they love independence, but can’t find love. Yet don’t want to be seen as needy. It sounds all over the place and at times it is. When the object of affection in America is always publicized as White women in media, sports, entertainment, publications; then a feeling of being left out sets in. What is the overall solution? I myself have to admit that I don’t know because it is such a personal situation to deal with in life. But whatever or wherever the change comes from, it must change because it can only hurt Black women in the end.

Leave a Reply

