FIGURED OUT: IS THERE REALLY AN AGE LIMIT THAT COMES WITH KNOWING LIFE?

Related image

“What comes with knowing life and the world around you?”

I have always heard growing up that if you keep going to sleep and waking up, I’ll figure the world out eventually. But I ask myself, is there really an age that comes with figuring out the world. Because when it comes to figuring out the world, the only thing I really need to know is people. Everything else is dictated by nature accept for us as a species. Plants have their way of interacting and animals have their way. But what about people? What is there really to figure out? I mean I think I have life already figured out, but soon as you say that people assume something else. Well let me explain what I mean by that statement.

When I say I have life figured out, I am not saying the intricacies that of the Earth and the Universe. I am more so talking about us as people. You see, when I was a young child I was babysat in the house by a few of my elders. My great-grandmother, her daughter (my grandmother), my grandmother’s sister, and their sister-in-law. But what I remember most was something that I asked my great grandmother as to why she never left the house. Her response was always the same, “Ain’t nothing out there.” Now, my mother knows what that means now that she is pushing 60 years of age. But at the age of 29 years old, I already know what that means.

See, my great grandmother was born around the early 1900’s and passed away in my second year of undergrad. So you’re talking a lot of years of witnessing humanity. Humanity at our worst and at our best. So when you are 96/97 years of age, why go outside. And living in New York City with such a diverse group of people, I now know what she meant now. Once you come in contact with enough of us as people. Understand what motivates us, our agendas, likes, and dislikes; you really don’t need to explore much after a while. Maybe this is why I am so aloof of a man. I think I understand us too much at too a young of an age.

Put it this way, look at life. People say life isn’t fair, but yet it’s very fair. Millions of sperm is thrust from the male genitalia. Yet, out of all those millions only one will fertilize the egg. Even with this one sperm reaching the egg, there is no guarantee the egg will fertilize. But let’s say it does; the journey from Fallopian Tube, to the fully mature baby in the wound, anything can happen. Those nine months can result in a child, or a still born infant. Now, let’s also further assume a baby is born, then what? Is the hard part over? No because as the child is released from the mother’s wound, all sorts of measures must be taken to clean and protect the baby from this new world. That infant immediately becomes exposed to everything from viruses to bacteria.

So, that infant comes home and from infancy through adolescent life you make that journey. From early adulthood to middle aged. Given that the average human body is only built to reach 40 years of age, yet due to improved scientific medicine we live to 78 years. Now, do you think life is fair now; yes or no? That is what I mean by I have life figured out. That is really the only thing to figure out. Yet anything else involves dealing with the human aspect of this planet. And this is what makes life hard; humanity. So biologically I have life figured out, but we make life unfair as people. There is enough food and water for every human on Earth, yet we as people get in the way of everyone having it.

Now you ask again, do I think I have life figure out? Of course because life is what I am doing now typing this blog post. It is the state of human existence, life. Living is dealing in the society in which I dwell. Outside of humanity, what else is there to know, or I must figure out. Human impact is the biggest impact. You don’t have food, human; lost your job, human; got cheated on, human. People say life throws you curve balls. Like what sicknesses, that’s not much of a curve ball, we all get sick. We just think it’s a curve ball because of the, “We think there for I am,” mentality. I think I am going to wake up tomorrow, I think I will be successful. Then you lose your job, that’s not a curve ball life thrown you, man fired you from work; human.

In closing, we have this notion that life must be figured through years of living, yet living alone is not enough. Watching and keeping your eyes open in your environment has a lot to do with knowing life. When you’re young, your eyes aren’t open because you’re into yourself. Your goals are paramount, yet when you get older and lose people and tangibles, you see nothing is guaranteed. As for me, I don’t live my life like the average 20 something. I am always trying to see the world from another perspective. Not just human thought processes, but natural. Our universe is so vast and infinite, yet we only have a finite time on this Earth as people. And how you spend your time will ultimately become your legacy when you die. So given that I know life and the living, I want to know more. Something higher, another level up. Something above us, greater than use, that man has not yet grasped hold of, that we seek to hold in our grasp. And with an infinite universe, and a finite species, opportunities are endless.

Leave a Reply

