2017: WHAT’S TO COME OF THIS NEW YEAR

2017 Calender on the red cubes

“What is your plans for the next 12 months?

We all look forward to the New Year. It gives us chance to reflect on the year. But more so, we make resolutions that we work to keep for the upcoming year. For me, I have quite a few plans for 2017. They include, film, theater, novels, podcast show, and photography. Now, you may think, will I be doing this all at once. The answer is no, of course not. But over the course of the year I am hoping to accomplish a variety of endeavors. My first being finishing my first novel and book of short stories.

I started my novel and short stories books in May of 2015. I am performing some line editing, then I’ll design my book covers for both books. This is a crowd builder, which will aid in my next novel and short story book. Setting a goal for myself to write a novel each year and book of short stories together is going to be tough. But continuously contributing to my blog post keeps me engaged in writing my novel and short stories. Making myself write something, anything is beneficial to my books. Well, what about my other projects I have in the works. Such as my next short film I’m looking to shoot in the spring/summer of 2017.

My first short film was ok, but this one has an ability to be greater. I know more about the process and preparation has already started. The film is a 15 minute short about a public figure and her difficulty with being honest in a world where outright honesty could hurt her career. I wrote this screenplay back in September and I have been preproduction planning since then. Hopefully, this will bring me one step closer to making my first feature film. Which is why I also have taken an interest in photography. Working with stills I feel could improve more of my visuals in regards to film.

A more personal goal is health. Towards the end of the year, winter has brought sicknesses; yep, flu season. My internal resolution is to keep the mind as well as the body healthy. To eating healthy and living healthy. Which brings me to another project, my podcast show. I thought about making the show pertaining to societal issues. But that can be depressing, so I want it to comprise of motivation and inspiration.

In the end, a lot of people make resolutions, but few stick to them. Resolutions are a commitment. And they are commitments at times which requires you to work outside of your normal day job. But it is possible. You are a decision maker in your own future. Make plans and stick to them. Unless an emergency arises, they shall not be broken.

 

Leave a Reply

