GRRRR! RAGE AND IT’S EFFECTS ON THE MIND

Image result for rage

“How anger effects your mood.”

I want you to conduct and experiment if you ever get the chance. I want you to think about a particular topic. Not just any topic, but a very controversial topic. Something like politics, racism, homophobia, religion, etc. Sit at home alone and engage in a full on debate with yourself. And try to get as mad as you can possibly get regarding the topic. Then after about an hour I want you to evaluate how you feel in the moment you stop being mad. Write down how you feel about yourself in this current state. What do you think you feel in this moment?

Now this all sounds crazy, but the thought behind something this extreme is because of the hate on social media. Some of the comments are so over the top hateful you wonder what is going on in people’s lives. And it’s not sarcasm, but flat out hatred. Now, I have conducted this experiment before a few times. Then I tried performing a productive task afterward. I noticed that my head hurt and I couldn’t focus on more important tasks. One of which was performing my daily writing for my blog and novel.

But I was only experimenting, what about the people who actually live like this on a daily basis. For me, when I see something or hear something I don’t like I tend to move on. So, why is it so hard for people to do the same. I have a few theories as to why people are this way. The first is that people don’t have anything going on in their lives. So when a famous person post their lives, even if remotely interesting the viewer just meltdown. Well why does their interesting life effect you so much? Because if you are home, work, home, work, and that’s your life, you look for reasons to be mad.

Which leads me into my next theory why people build rage. In their daily lives, they have no voice, which is why they protest. It makes them feel like they’ve accomplished something in a world where they accomplish nothing. Me on the other hand, unless you’ve broken a serious law, I don’t see the point in getting so mad about someone else’s life. So when a famous person is forced to apologize, they may have been one of the protesters, so it makes them feel like they did something important. It’s the prison inmate mentality. Hey, we’re in prison with nothing but time, let’s file complaints against the corrections officers. Hell, there’s nothing else to feel the time with.

And my last theory is that people spend so much of their lives not preparing for life, that when it’s time for them to get serious they’re now scrambling. For instance, they use their 20’s to have fun, then when life dawn on them, they have spent 10 years partying. Now some people go hey time to build. But others have this inner disdain for wasting a decade now 30’s are arriving. But instead of buckling down the disdain continues into their 30’s to 40’s. And now they have wasted 20 years. And just like that, the rejection of wasted time sets in. That’s why it’s important to pursue a career and life from three mindsets: what do I love, am I good at it, and can I financially sustain over a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

