RESTLESS NIGHTS (SHORT STORY)

As I lie here, staring at the ceiling, I wonder when is my baby coming home. He left a few days ago and I already miss him as if he has been gone for years. Will he ever return, and if he does will I recognize him. Should I move or wait around until he comes back into my life. Some of you might be wondering, who am I referring to. Well, my one and only, my true love, without him I am not whole. You might think to yourself, how did he leave, and why did he leave. It started when I made him breakfast a few days ago. I have to admit, it wasn’t the most filling meal one would hope for, but I tried my best.

I gave it my all, but to him, he couldn’t see that; he couldn’t see how much I worked to satisfy him. How could he not appreciate the distance I went to, to please him? And it doesn’t stop at breakfast, what about how clean I keep the house. Getting up at the crack of dawn and cleaning is not an easy task. The body needs time to adjust after resting for eight hours of sleep. But do you think he cared, not one bit. Sometimes it would take me the whole day to clean this house. Of course during my task, the television was on, so I could keep up with my daytime talk shows and soap operas.  Taking part in some daytime entertainment kept me distracted from my mundane existence.

Another task that I knew my baby would like is making sure I had a good meal in evening for him to eat. This always impressed because it took the most planning. Nonetheless, he still walked out and left me here alone. Now I am holding on to these sheets in my bed where he left me some time ago. Maybe I should just replace him. I could always find a new baby who will love me and appreciate me for the things I do for him.

I know there’s that one out there that will appreciate that extra mile I am willing to go to satisfy them. Wait a minute, I think I hear something, let me go see what it is I am hearing. Oh my God, it’s coming from outside. Let me see what’s out there. I open the front door, look down and my baby. My baby has returned to me, but not saying a word, just strolls right on in. But you know what, it doesn’t even matter because my babys’ home. Lying comfortably close to his litter box he rest his head.

Leave a Reply

